Saturday, November 20, 2010

Lula selected for Indira Gandhi Peace Prize, 2010

Outgoing Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva was on 19th November selected for the prestigious Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development for 2010. Lula has been selected by an international jury chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

The prestigious prize was given to Lula for his outstanding contribution to the cause of eliminating hunger and promoting inclusive growth in his country, his advocacy for strong ties among the developing countries and for his significant contribution to the cause of India-Brazil partnership, a statement from Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust said.

"Mr. Lula has championed the cause of the global south, and worked to strengthen bonds among the developing countries… His priority from the start was inclusive growth and the consolidation and expansion of social programmes,” noted the release.

Indira Gandhi Peace Prize
The Indira Gandhi Peace Prize or the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development is the prestigious award accorded annually by India to individuals or organizations in recognition of creative efforts toward promoting international peace, development and a new international economic order; ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity, and enlarging the scope of freedom.

The prize carries a cash award of 25 lakh Indian rupees and a citation. A written work, in order to be eligible for consideration, should have been published. The panel constituted by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust consists of prominent national and international personalities including previous recipients. The recipients are chosen from a pool of national and international nominees.

Recipients of Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

Year Name of Recipient
1997 Jimmy Carter

1998 Muhammad Yunus

1999 M S Swaminathan

2000 Mary Robinson

2001 Sadako Ogata

2002 Shridath Ramphal

2003 Kofi Annan

2004 Maha Chakri Sirindhorn

2005 Hamid Karzai

2006 Wangari Maathai

2007 Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

2008 Mohamed ElBaradei

2009 Sheikh Hasina

2010 Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva